A Miracle In Motion

I had so much fun emulating one of my favorite bloggers yesterday I thought I’d do it again!

Today I’m paying a small homage to the amazing writer of the Bird Nation blog, whose wonderfully informative posts combine photographs and lessons into a brilliantly educational read. I’m sure I won’t manage half as well, but I’m so infatuated with her posts I just have to give it a go

And what better bird to do it with than the Anna’s Hummingbird?

DSC_3362
Female Anna’s Hummingbird (Image By Celebrate Silence)

These beautiful little birds weigh in at a whopping 3 – 6 grams (0.1 – 0.2 of an ounce for my Imperial readers) and measure 3 – 4 inches long (which actually makes them fairly stocky for a hummingbird)

Their brilliantly patterned green backs and the male’s distinctive iridescent throat patch make these guys an easy spot in the field, if you’re prepared for spotting a business card sized object moving at an average of 60kph (35mph) that is.

And did I mention that’s not their top speed?

These moving miracles have been clocked during breeding displays at over 86kph (55mph). At their size that’s a speed of 385 body lengths per second, making them the fastest bird in the world relative to their size. And just how fast is that in real world math when you do the conversions?

The world’s fastest fighter jet couldn’t even begin to keep up.

These tiny birds with their 60 wingbeats and 20 heartbeats per second have a top speed twice that of the fastest known fighter jet when compared relative to size.

DSC_3431
The Incredible Anna’s Hummingbird (Image By Celebrate Silence)

Take that Boeing.

Some cool identification tricks I’ve noticed about these birds over the years include the juvenile males having small speckles of color on the top of their heads. Its pretty hard to tell the females and the young males apart but that trick will always work if they slow down enough to get a decent look. Males of course, are easy to spot thanks to their brilliant pink throat feathers, which wonderfully enough are iridescent appearing black or other colors in different light.

DSC_3414
Male Anna’s Hummingbird (Image By Celebrate Silence)

And there is one other fact you have to consider about these beautiful little birds.

DSC_3398

They are, in the end, simply gorgeous.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. BirdNation says:

    You are so sweet! I’m glad you enjoy my blog. I am quite fond of your blog and photographs as well :-). You did a great job with all the cool hummingbird facts. I’ve never seen a Anna’s hummingbird in person, but they do look gorgeous. I’ve been getting my hummingbird feeder ready, so I can’t wait to get some visitors.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Hummingbirds are some of my favorites 🙂 If you really want to drive the hummingbirds crazy see if your local plant store has any Ribes sanguineum (common name flowering currant) It’s native to my area but is commercially sold and their mad about its sweet smell

      Like

  2. Love your photo’s. Never seen a hummingbird but they look so elegant 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! They really are beautiful little creatures. I’m sure you have them around you somewhere…a little bit of luck and a fast shutter and you’ll get yours too!

      Like

      1. Hummingbirds aren’t in the UK so won’t be able snap shot one in the wild but might try a few zoos 🙂

        Like

Tell Us What You Think!