The Beauty Around Us

One of the things I love about living in Vancouver is the abundance of wildlife and the emphasis on outdoor pursuits. We have tons of local parks and conservation areas with a really good (if completely underfunded) conservation team making sure all the local birds and birdwatchers have plenty of places to hang out and enjoy nature. So whenever I want to get out, all I need is a transit pass, a little sense of adventure, and enough peripheral vision to spot signs like this as they randomly roll by the bus window.

DSC_4799

Bet you can guess how fast I was off that bus!

And my hasty departure from my comfortable perch proved my profitable than I ever could have imagined right from the get go. Herons! Nesting Herons!

DSC_4833.jpg

Now I know from previous encounters with Heron colonies just how loud this must have been but sometimes having an auto mute function is helpful for one’s concentration. Those buggers  were dropping sticks all over the road as they went back and forth in their building frenzy, and it was no mean feat trying to dodge these heavy things as they slammed down beside me.

Soon enough I had dodged my fill and was off into Deer Lake Park.

DSC_4868.jpg

Now, Deer Lake is somewhere I’ve never bothered to visit before. Although I saw tons of flitters and flutters, I didn’t get many bird shots, but the the views more than made up for it I think.

DSC_4883

Everywhere I looked there was another breathtaking display of nature waiting for my lens.

DSC_4940

And the occasional rather odd looking Canada Goose.

DSC_4967

From sweet Mallard mama’s

DSC_4977.jpg

To gorgeous creekside views

DSC_4989.jpg

I couldn’t help but be completely overwhelmed by this place. I’m definitely coming back!

DSC_4998

Stay tuned tomorrow as my birding wanderlust takes a sudden turn into an encounter with a wildcat and the best shot of my life flies by!

One Comment Add yours

Tell Us What You Think!