Not What I Was Expecting To Find

Often on my walks I will see an interesting bird perched somewhere my camera is not pointing. So I make a desperate try to get the camera round in time without scaring off the bird only to discover  I’ve taken yet another shot of empty bloody air – or if I was especially spry – a tail or wing tip.

But sometimes life throws me an unexpected gift in the form of a complete surprise. In the photo above I was actually attempting to take a picture of a pilleated woodpecker that had just given me a thorough chastising. He however was long gone before my lens focused but the snap had already been snapped so I thought for sure I had another pretty tree picture for my ever-growing collection. Imagine my shock when I looked at the review shot and saw this little guy staring squarely into the lens! A great snap and a great lesson on my journey

Sometimes I don`t get what I want, and as hard as I try it’s all for nought. But there is almost always a redeeming moment somewhere. You just have to have your eyes open enough to see it.

 

Tell Us What You Think!